Column mounted manual shift button - Nissan Titan Forum
User Tag List

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 02-23-2010, 08:31 AM
JCopeland
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Column mounted manual shift button

After 195,000 miles something has happend to my truck that I hadn't seen on here or heard about. The button on my shift lever that turns the manual shift on and off stop working yesterday. I know it was working Saturday and Sunday. I tried it again this morning and it still isn't working. Does anyone have any thoughts on what it could be or things I can check. Boat season is coming up soon. I have not looked at the fuses but all other electrical items seem to be working and the transmission in drive is working fine. Thanks for any suggestions.
JCopeland is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-23-2010, 01:47 PM
BBtruck
Shift_Enthusiast
 
BBtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Huntsville Alabama
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This should give you what you need.

http://www.clubtitan.org/forums/show...t=shift+button

L

My Galaxy '05 XE 4x1 modest mods:
Bilsteins HD front and back, PRG adj. shackles, PRG swaybar endlinks, Stillen front+rear swaybar, RAS, Stillen Rad, BD PP, S&B CAI, DT LT's, Berk MP, SS Zoomers catback, Mag-Hytec rear diff cover, CF dash kit.
BBtruck is offline  
#3 Old 02-23-2010, 02:32 PM
JCopeland
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It sure does. Looks like I know what I'll be checking this weekend depending on the weather. Thanks a million.
JCopeland is offline  
#4 Old 02-23-2010, 10:11 PM
o-fivecc
Shift_Obsessed
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yeah without even looking at that link BB posted, I bet its about the wiring. Those wires get rubbed and brake or touch which will cause it not to work

New ride: 2005 Pontiac GTO

Sold
2005 Crew Cab...13.7 @99.1 NA...13.3 at 103 Juicin'

Nismo LT headers, Uprev tune, no cats, JBA catback with 22" Mag, Detroit Tru-Trac, 07 intake, AEM Brute Force, Trans-Go shift kit
Nismo SS gauges, Graphite OEM 20's w/ Yokohama Parada Spec-X in 275/55/20, rear drop shackles, modded headlights, tinted tails, Armaden LEDs, Hellwig traction springs, Bilsteain 5100's rear, Hellwig rear sway bar, Armada airdam, DDM 8000k HIDs in headlights and fogs---And DDM sucks
o-fivecc is offline  
#5 Old 02-24-2010, 03:25 AM
pogi69x
Shift_Enthusiast
 
pogi69x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I had the same issue at 33,000 miles so after I repaired it and it was kind of a pain. As I was putting the column together I thought "how could I make this last longer" so I applied glue from a glue gun at the corner, now I don't know if that is a fix but seems to be holding up for now.

2007 White K/C XE
2* Advance, K&N CAI, 18" Magnaflow, Pioneer AVIC D-3 NAV, Hifonics TXI 6008, 2 Audiobahn 10's, 13.5" Flip down screen, game port for son PS2, wireless head phones

WISH LIST
NISMO Headers, Nismo Exhaust, Volant CAI, PGM

I LOVE THIS TRUCK!!!!!!
pogi69x is offline  
#6 Old 02-24-2010, 08:07 AM
JCopeland
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did your problem turn out to be the black wire others have had the problem with? Depending on the weather this weekend I going to pull it apart and hope that is the problem. Thanks for the glue suggestion.
JCopeland is offline  
#7 Old 02-24-2010, 09:28 PM
kha4079
CTs Little Chihuahua
Shift_Obsessed
 
kha4079's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i also have the same problem i have an 07 and it wont shift up only down

bored at home
kha4079 is offline  
#8 Old 02-24-2010, 11:14 PM
krh2
Shift_Enthusiast
 
krh2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego (El Cajon)
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha4079 View Post
i also have the same problem i have an 07 and it wont shift up only down
I posted the fix, now get er done..

krh2 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for help (Manual Mode Button) 15007875 General Discussion 6 07-24-2009 02:27 PM
body lift on a column shift? asepkid Suspension 11 12-30-2008 06:33 PM
Manual shift button not working wiscdave General Discussion 5 03-03-2008 10:23 AM
Column Shifter- Manual Shift Problem blackandtitan Technical Discussion 2 01-20-2008 02:47 PM
Best PDA mount option for Column Shift Methuselah Interior Mods 1 01-02-2006 06:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off