Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
'05 XE 4x4, if it matters...

Backstory - tailpipe section rotted off at the junction, I pulled that before it bounced off into traffic. Muffler section rotted through top & bottom. Time for something new & better.

I am no novice to rusted fasteners and cr&ppy hardware, but this is right up there... I sprayed the nuts with penetrating oil (e.g. PB Blaster) every weekend for a month. Spent last weekend trying to get _one_ nut off. No go.

This weekend I cut them off - I swear, the nuts were welded to the studs... Anyway - the old exhaust is out. (I have all new factory studs, nuts & gaskets.)

And I still have stubs of 4 studs REALLY, REALLY stuck in the cat flanges. More penetrating oil. Lots of heat. Still friggin' stuck. It's now cold and dark on the east coast and it looks like I'll be renting a car to get to work tomorow. I had hoped that once the tension was relieved, the stubs would unscrew a little more easily. It's not working out that way...

So - how do you get the stud stubs out of the cat flanges? It seems like they should have been installed from 'the back' - i.e. - the exhaust side, rather than the engine side, of the flange, and that I ought to be able to unscrew them from that side. (If you have seen an exhaust stud, you know there is an unthreaded section 1/3 the way through.)

Despite my attempts with penetrants and heat, all I'm doing with (good) ViseGrips is slowly shaving the stub thinner and thinner.

I do not want to drill out the studs but I will if I have to.

No welding gear yet, so "just weld on a nut and turn it off with that" is not the answer I need.

Despite logic, should I be trying to screw the stub 'in' to the flange, rather than out?

Thanks in advance...

·
Registered
4,396 Posts
I feel your pain. It sucks that a truck only 5 years old has fasteners rusted that bad. I would probably end up drilling them out.

·
Registered
13 Posts