Nissan Titan Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm really new at this so please enlighten me...
I thought adding a cat-back exhaust system would give you more power through better fuel efficiency - hence better mileage. Am I wrong? Does the mileage dip while the ecu adjusts and then bounce back up or does it just go down and stay down? While I would love the sound of custom pipes, my real goal is better fuel efficiency. Am I chasing my tail with a cat-back system?

·
Premium Member
5,842 Posts
You are not going to gain that much. I have installed the Volant intake and have a custom Flowmaster Dual in/ou exhaust set up and it sounds great and looks cool. It gave me about 1mpg better. Not a lot. Some probably get a little better with a tuned cat back system. I had mine done by a local shop though (not a cat back system)
M4ck

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info. If it doesn't hurt mileage, I'll probably do it anyway. Do you think a bed cover is worthwhile from the fuel economy standpoint? Do you feel any particular mods are fuel savers? Thanks again.

·
Premium Member
5,842 Posts
I have heard arguments on the bed covers. From what I have read I don't really see drastic improvement. I definately would not spend a ton of money on one. I need easy access to my bed anyway. If I were to get one it would be light and have to roll up or fold up easy and leave me most of the room in the bed for hauling. I don't haul a lot but when I do I want the entire bed. Usually its only hauling things for my dad but he can really load it down sometimes. Maybe MikeZ can jump in on this one. He had the Retrax system. Mike if you read this let us know if you noticed an increase in fuel economy. I personally think that anything to lighten up the truck will help on fuel economy. These trucks are beasts. If there is a way to drop a couple hundred lbs somewhere easy let us know guys.
M4ck

·
Registered
219 Posts