Nissan Titan Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does this happen to anyone? When I'm on the highway and the cruise control is on there is a surging on slight downhills. It is not a big deal but you can feel it. Not on the level, not on up or steep downhills, just gradual downhills. My other vehicles do not do this.

Jim in PA

·
Registered
2,489 Posts
Its the Brakes.
I Think its neat,'cuz it helps to keep the truck from "overshooting" the set speed, and "overtaking" the Car ahead of you.
Especially when your pulling a trailer.
I was Afraid it would hurt my mileage, but I Averaged 16mpg! (5k#'[email protected])

·
Registered
17 Posts
I have been tuning cruise control pids for 3 years now for the duramax and I can tell you this is not the brakes. They have the gains set too tight in the software. We call it cruise chuggle. I got it the other day in my titan on a slight downhill around 40mph or so. Cruise grade braking only shifts you into a lower gear to control speed. There is a reflash needed to fix the problem. Hope they look into it.

DB

·
SHIFT_I did it the hard way... I earned it.
4,341 Posts
This is the kind of information we like. Nice post Bowhunter. Nice AVATAR, too.

·
Registered
2,489 Posts
dbowhntr said:
I have been tuning cruise control pids for 3 years now for the duramax and I can tell you this is not the brakes. They have the gains set too tight in the software. We call it cruise chuggle. I got it the other day in my titan on a slight downhill around 40mph or so. Cruise grade braking only shifts you into a lower gear to control speed. There is a reflash needed to fix the problem. Hope they look into it.

DB
OOPS! Sorry, My bad. :beating:
Thanks for the Correction, Bowhunter. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
39 Posts
FYI:

I have the same problem on my 05 SE 4x4. I'll check with my local dealer about flashing the eeprom and get back with you all.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Methuselah said:
FYI: